VDL Faculty and Staff

Academic Faculty | Residents | Quality Assurance | Business Office | Receiving | Bacteriology | Clinical Pathology | Histopathology | Molecular Diagnostics | Pathology | Virology

Academic Faculty

Rob Bildfell, DVM
Professor and Pathologist
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Pathologists
Phone: (541) 737-6965
Rob.Bildfell@oregonstate.edu

Karyn Bird, DVM, PhD
Assistant Professor
Quality Manager 
Karyn.Bird@oregonstate.edu

Howard Gelberg, DVM, PhD
Professor and Pathologist
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Pathologists
Phone: (541) 737-6865
Howard.Gelberg@oregonstate.edu

Elena Gorman, DVM, MS
Assistant Professor and Clinical Pathologist
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Pathologists
Phone: (541) 737-6820
Elena.Gorman@oregonstate.edu

Jerry R. Heidel, DVM, PhD
Professor and Director, Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Pathologists
Certified Fish Pathologist, American Fisheries Society
Phone: (541) 737-6964
Jerry.Heidel@oregonstate.edu

Ling Jin, DVM, PhD
Associate Professor and Virologist
Phone: (541) 737-9893 Ext.1386
Ling.Jin@oregonstate.edu

Christiane V. Löhr, Dr. med. vet., PhD
Associate Professor and Pathologist
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Pathologists
Phone: (541) 737-9673
Christiane.Loehr@oregonstate.edu

Tim Miller-Morgan, DVM
Assistant Professor, Extension Veterinarian-Aquatics Pets
Aquatic Animal Health Services
Hatfield Marine Science Center
Phone: (541) 867-0265
Tim.Miller-Morgan@oregonstate.edu

Kathy O’Reilly, PhD
Associate Professor, Senior Research
Phone: 541-737-6532 (reception)
Cvm.biomed@oregonstate.edu

Manoj Pastey, BVSc, PhD
Associate Professor and Microbiologist
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Microbiologists
Phone: (541) 737-3940
Manoj.Pastey@oregonstate.edu

Susan Tornquist, DVM, PhD
Professor and Clinical Pathologist
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Pathologists
Phone: (541) 737-6943
Susan.Tornquist@oregonstate.edu

Beth Valentine, DVM, PhD
Professor and Pathologist
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Pathologists
Phone: (541) 737-5061
Beth.Valentine@oregonstate.edu

[Top]

Residents

Patti Kiser, DVM
Resident - Anatomical Pathology
patti.kisser@oregonstate.edu

Jackie Koehne, DVM
Resident - Clinical Pathology
jackie.koehne@oregonstate.edu

Kelly Hughes, DVM
Senior Resident - Anatomical Pathology
Kelly.Hughes@oregonstate.edu

Ida Phillips, DVM
Resident - Anatomical Pathology
Ida.Phillips@oregonstate.edu

[Top]

Quality Assurance

Phone (541) 737-9294

Karyn Bird, DVM, PhD
Quality Manager
Karyn.Bird@oregonstate.edu

[Top]

Business Office

Phone (541) 737-3261

Alanna McPartlin
Business Operations Supervisor
Alanna.McPartlin@oregonstate.edu

Jeanne Ward
Office Specialist
Jeanne.Ward@oregonstate.edu

Receiving

Tammy Cook
Medical Laboratory Technician
Tammy.Cook@oregonstate.edu

Sonja Mehlau
Medical Laboratory Technician
Sonja.Mehlau@oregonstate.edu

Janna Thorp
Medical Laboratory Technician
Janna.Thorp@oregonstate.edu

[Top]

Bacteriology Section

Peggy L. Dearing, MS, M(ASCP)
Bacteriology Lab Supervisor
Microbiologist
Peggy.Dearing@oregonstate.edu

Janell Bishop-Stewart
Microbiologist
Janell.Bishop-Stewart@oregonstate.edu

Tim Hunkapiller
Microbiologist I
Tim.Hunkapiller@oregonstate.edu

Jill Pfaff
Microbiologist
Jilleen.Pfaff@oregonstate.edu

[Top]

Clinical Pathology

Crystal Foster, MT(ASCP)
Clinical Pathology Lab Coordinator
Medical Technologist
Crystal.Foster@oregonstate.edu

Michele Flanders
Medical Technician
Michele.Flanders@oregonstate.edu

Tammy Kienitz, MT(AMT)
Medical Technologist
Tammy Kienitz@oregonstate.edu

[Top]

Histopathology

Kay A. Fischer
Senior Faculty Histotechnology Research Assistant
Histology Lab Supervisor
Kay.Fischer@oregonstate.edu

Misty Corbus
Histotechnologist
Misty.Corbus@oregonstate.edu

Renee Norred
Histotechnologist
Renee.Norred@oregonstate.edu

[Top]

Molecular Diagnostics

Donna Mulrooney
Molecular Diagnostics Lab Supervisor
Microbiologist
Donna.Mulrooney@oregonstate.edu

Andree Hunkapiller
Microbiologist
Andree.Hunkapiller@oregonstate.edu

[Top]

Pathology

Travis Feldsher
Pathology Lab Coordinator
Travis.Feldsher@oregonstate.edu

[Top]

Virology

Rocky J. Baker
Virology Lab Supervisor
Rocky.Baker@oregonstate.edu

Wendy Black
Research Assistant - Virology
Wendy.Black@oregonstate.edu

Margo Whipple
Microbiologist
Margo.Whipple@oregonstate.edu

[Top]