The Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine’s Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Awareness Committee is charged with developing strategies and actionable items to foster a community of diversity and inclusion for our students, faculty and staff.  

IDEA Committee Mission Statement

The Carlson College of Veterinary Medicine strives to create a collegial, professional working and learning environment that is supportive of all; one that both values and demands respectful communication; encourages collaborations and allows students, faculty and staff to contribute their best at all times. 

Our college is committed to actively promoting diversity and inclusion that embraces the value of varied cultural backgrounds, ethnicities, gender identity or expression, sexual orientations, age, religions, physical and mental abilities. 

Our commitment to diversity and inclusion is a shared responsibility among our faculty, staff, students, alumni and others who are part of the community. 

We choose to be a culture that values diversity, inclusion, respect, empathy and equity for all. 

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Resources

CCVM DEI Resources

University DEI Resources

National Veterinary DEI Resources 

Committee Members 

The IDEA Committee is comprised of students, faculty and staff from all units of the college. 

2024-2025 Members 

Committee Chair: Stacy Cooley (contact)

Committee co-chair: Dianne Quiroz-Predtechenska (contact)

Jose Caracheo, Jennifer Johns, Christiane Löhr, Shelby Matsuoka, Bob McCarthy, Alison Means, Simran Nagi, Tandi Ngwenyama, Jens Odegaard, Alyssa Spires, Jason Tanenbaum,  Laura Williams, Lilian Wong  

Volunteer Members 

Tess Collins, Patrick Chappell, Reneé Norred, Stacy Semevolos, Susanne Stieger-Vanegas, Katja Zellmer